Sweet Daydream

CDAW – chapter 36

Previous | TOC | Glossary | Next

Translator: Murabito-san (BL love translations)

Lunch – Toki

I was surprised when I woke up, and I blinked my eyes. Eh? Why am I being kissed?

“Nn, ah.”

Am I being attacked by Assam while asleep?

 “Good morning, Toki. Did you sleep well?”

Un, I was awakened by your kiss, Assam. Even though I did not say it, Assam seemed to have already read my thoughts and sent an exquisite reply.

“I’m sorry I woke you up. I wanted to let you sleep a little more, but you have not eaten dinner nor night snacks yesterday, right? Moreover, you did not eat breakfast, so not eating lunch as well will be bad for your body. It is fine to sleep while eating, but eat at least a bit please.”

Did I sleep for that long? And even waking up after being kissed like the sleeping beauty*. I’m not a princess* though.

*T/N: in Japanese, it’s ‘sleeping princess’.

“Face, wash. Teeth, brush.”

“Aa, <<purification>> is this alright? You are cute today too.”

He cast the magic with a big smile. When I rubbed the insides of my mouth with my tongue, I could feel the smooth surface without plaques.

The face was certainly clean, but there was no refreshing feeling as when being washed with cold water.

“Want to go, omaru.”

“By magic……”

“No!”

What kind of bullying was to watch me urinate! I firmly refused Assam’s words.

“Is that so. What a pity. Then, I will carry you to omaru.”

Assam lifted Toki up while pressing down the laughter. I was taken to omaru, and when I finished my business, I was carried again.

“Don’t become too sullen. That expression is also pretty, though. Let us go to the pedestal.”

“Pe destal?”

“It is a place to eat and relax.”

I was brought to a low sofa with lots of rugs and cushions.

“Waa, amazing. Dish so delicious!”

The meal that was already prepared in front of me was properly cooker unlike yesterday’s. I did not know the names of the dishes, though. I started eating after doing the usual pre-meal greeting.

“This is boiled wol.”

Just touching it with the two skewers* made it softly split in half. When I put it on a spoon and carried it to my mouth, the sweet and salty familiar taste spread.

*T/N: i think it’s hashi/chopstick.

“Delicious!”

The boiled yellow-green white fish was lightly seasoned and was just right.

“That’s good. Try this too.”

The chicken meat yanak was stabbed on a skewer. Eh? Was that fried chicken? When I brought it to my mouth, it tasted familiar.

“Delicious! My world’s, same, taste!”

“Toki’s world’s taste. Is it okay for me to eat it too?”

“Un!”

I nodded and offered the skewer. In other words, it was that ‘aa~h’ stuff. Assam was happily expecting, but his expression gradually became grumpy.

“The taste is light and a little bitter. Is this really good?”

Apparently, it did not suit his tastes. Moreover, he even thought I was being careful not to let him down.

“Tastes light, I like. Tastes, sweet, delicious.”

“Is it sweet? This?”

I nodded. I wonder if the bitterness and sweetness tastes are reversed?

“It seems that our tastes/palates are very different. Toki, I want to try some leaves today, is that okay?”

“Un.”

Some completely yellow leaves were placed in front of me. For the first one, I reached out for the jagged one right in front of me.

“Ouch-!”#

# he spoke in Japanese

“Toki! <<Healing>>”

He pulled the Toki’s forefinger that was cut by the leaf, licked the blood lightly, and then cast a healing magic.*

*T/N: it was like this, so I couldn’t put it in first person speech.

“To get hurt by food. That is [gizagi]. If we boil it, it will soften and you will not be injured.”

He muttered surprised. I did not think that the jaggedness was so sharp. Gizagi was retrieved to be boiled.

“Turn, round.”

I laughed bitterly to the astonished Assam, and picked up the round leaf and chewed it. Contrary to its appearance, the leaf was soft as boiled. The taste was like cabbage, maybe. The natural sweetness is delicious.

“Is that okay?”

I nodded at Assam, who was confirming my safety.

“Sweet. Delicious.”

“It is a bitter leaf called [Enkya]… Then, how about this?”

I was given a yellow leaf in an equilateral triangle form stabbed on a skewer. I was surprised when I tasted it.

“Ah!! This is lettuce!”#

“What’s wrong? Does it hurt? Heal it now……”

“Not that! Delicious!”

I denied in a hurry. I had spoken in Japanese. The equilateral triangular yellow leaf is deliciously crispy. It’s name is [torare].

After that, I found that when the jagged leaf [gizagi] was blanched, it tasted like Chinese cabbage. The long, slender rolled yellow leaf was like bean sprouts, and the name was [horun]. It looked a little like an instrument.

“It seems you can eat leaves/salad.”

I finished the [gorun fruit] that was served as a dessert in two bites and finished a very delicious lunch safely.


[Purified water]→Transparent water. Used in medicine and ceremonies. Water with no impurities.
[Fruit of Golun]→Golden fruit. Tastes like custard cream.
[Wol]→Large green fish.
Green fillet→Lean tuna.
Dark green→Shrimp.
Emerald green→Salmon.
Yellow-green fillet→Simple white-meat fish.
[Yanak]→Chicken meat.
[Sahana]→Blend of pork and beef.

[Enkya] Round yellow leaf. When it is raw, it tastes like boiled cabbage. Sweet.

[Torare] Triangular yellow leaf. It tastes like crispy lettuce.

[Gizagi]* Jagged yellow leaf. It tastes like Chinese cabbage. It needs to be boiled.

*T/N: it literally means ‘jagged’.

[Horun] Long, slim rolled yellow leaf. It tastes like bean sprouts.


notes

  • Wattpad ch 33 <here>
  • idk how I’m gonna show when they speak in Japanese, but for now, it’ll be with #
  • Corrections are welcome!

 

Previous | TOC | Glossary | Next

12 thoughts on “CDAW – chapter 36

Leave a comment